Skip to content

Music Review: We Can Be More

February 2, 2010

I like some hip hop.  I especially like some “holy hip hop”.  Just checked out this track by “We Can Be More,” by Sho Baraka.  Sho is part of Reach Records, one of the hottest christian hip hop labels in the country.

Listen here:

“We Can Be More”

Featuring J.R., the song has a nice airy, infectious beat I’m sure J.R. produced himself and we hear Sho talking about wanting a love more than just the ordinary.  Man, how refreshing to hear brothas talking about long-term committment and actually rapping about songs that glorify marriage and downplay being a “player”.

I like how  Sho describes his wants by using slick analogies (‘and they can call us Outkast, Andre’) and playfully tells us that the track is so nice, he wants to sing.  Very good production all around, and I can see this single getting good play before the release of his album, Lions and Liars, on March 30, 2010.

I give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.

No comments yet

Leave a comment