Skip to content

Snow and what it really means

February 9, 2010

Image from Flickr.com

It seems like every other story we hear on the news today deals with snow.  Snow in DC, an avalanche in Afghanistan, and even some in my backyard. What it is up with the white stuff?

You know what?  I have no idea, lol.  I could honestly go a whole lifetime without it!

But what I do know is when I see it, I get happy.  OK, not that happy.  But happy in a sense that a certain somebody will always keep His word, and the snow, believe it or not, was one of His many promises fulfilling that.  Check out this passage:

Isaiah 55:9-10 (NIV):

10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,

11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Pretty powerful stuff.  I always wonder reading that, “God, why does it have to be snow”?

All jokes aside, I’m so grateful that his Word is so powerful and won’t return to us void.  Our God can use anything to remind us how good He is, yes, even every last inch of snow I will shovel today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

